My Mother’s Day Wish

Yang Mommy

For centuries,various civilizations have celebrated mothers.  The  Greeks honored Rhea, mother of the gods, and  Christians began to honor Mary, mother of Christ, on the fourth Sunday of Lent. But it wasn’t until 1872 when Julia Ward Howe organized a specific day for all mothers, dedicated to peace. Then in 1907, Anna M. Jarvis, a schoolteacher in Philadelphia, began a movement for a national Mother’s Day. She petitioned local and state legislatures and by 1914, President Woodrow Wilson declared the second Sunday in May to be (America’s) Mother’s  Day.

Hooray!

Today, Mother’s  Day has come a long way from a day of praise and peace. It’s now one of the most popular holidays in America, with sales of flowers skyrocketing and phone lines jammed with calls to Mom. And this being my third Mother’s Day being a mom, I’d like to take full advantage of all the commercialization!

For starters, I’d love a pair of diamond earrings. The carats need to be larger than a mere fleck of carbon. Then I’d like a luxury cruise in the Mediterranean. And before I go, I’d like a day of pampering with the girls at a spa. 

Wait, who am I kidding! Yes, I’d love all of that, who wouldn’t. But let’s be realistic, shall we?

I’d like a morning to sleep in,  followed by breakfast in bed and being able to watch my favorite shows whilst roaming the web.  Take a long hot bath, eat foods rich in fat and calories, and sip a nice chard as I reflect on my own motherhood and all the moms in my family. No cooking for me, no cleaning for me, no PBS Sprouts or Dr Seuss for me.  No laundry, no yard work, no picking up after menfolk. (That includes no answering of questions if “someone” doesn’t know  how to do all the above, too!)

Am I still dreaming? Maybe, but at least this dream is somewhat more achievable.  Besides, what I really want to do is to spend the day with my crazy family, especially with my little girl. Because she’s the best gift of all.

Just let someone else feed her, change her and hold her hand in the potty on Mother’s Day 🙂

YIN

I am not a big fan of Mother’s Day.  I really never have been.  Only because I wondered, even as a child, why only one day should be set aside for mom.  Not that I treated my mom extra special on the other days, but I didn’t really get it. 

Now I’m a mom and I still am not a big fan of Mother’s Day. But I now get it.  Mother’s Day is a necessity because a majority of moms don’t really get a moment to themselves on a regular basis.  Sure there are times when I can break into a book or enjoy a television show uninterrupted.  But it’s not very often.  Clothes need to be washed, dinner cooked, work done, diapers changed, sippy cups for the next day filled – it’s all on my list.  My husband is a wonderful help but still I think it’s more in the mom’s nature to think of the little things that, if there’s a spare moment, need to be completed. 

The Boston Globe had an article this week about obtaining a work-life balance.  Well it was actually about not obtaining a work-life balance and how although we often strive for it, very few of us actually get there.  My favorite quote in the article was “Who has time for inner peace?”  That made me laugh.  In a demented, maniacal way.  Because in my life that’s true.  How in the world would I have time to actually relax?  And by relax I mean really, really relax where I feel like I don’t have a care in the world and I’ve just won the lottery and am getting a live in maid. 

Maybe that day will come tomorrow which will be my second official Mother’s Day.  I will be giving my daughter and husband a big kiss, making myself a goat cheese-zucchini frittata (yes I’ll make it myself because my husband doesn’t know how to make breakfast and I want one really badly), going into my room and reading the entire New York Times that my husband is picking up for me in the morning and closing the door.  Alone.  In my room.  Sigh.  I feel the relaxation coming on already.

Leave a Reply

