Christmas is Here!

YIN:

Christmas is only a few days away and I’m still not quite ready. Would I ever be? Probably not. I work really well under pressure. But I do wish I still had a few more weeks. Not so I could shop some more but so I could hear more Christmas songs, eat more cookies and still have anticipation for the big day.

But alas the day must come and here it is. I plan on trying to enjoy the day and relax. There will be some stress (I still haven’t finalized my dinner menu – thank goodness my mother-in-law offered to bring the ham) but I’m praying I don’t let it get to me. At the end of the night I’ll read my daughter the Christmas story and hope that both our bellys and hearts are full.

Here’s to everyone having a wonderful Christmas. If you are of another faith may you have a nice quiet day to reflect on your own beliefs with your family. Now bring on 2010 and my high school 20th reunion!

YANG:

I can’t wrap my head around the fact that it’s nearly here…WOW!  Where has the time gone?!?  But guess what–rather than stressing out over these final days, I’m going to just kick back and in the words of the Beatles, just “let it be.” 

No worries if that  last batch of cookies got burnt or if I mistakenly bought the wrong size of clothing for someone. So what if my tot keeps hiding tree ornaments in the couch or if I have a steadily growing pine needle mountain on the floor. And I’ve come to accept that I just can’t get out all the Christmas cards I had planned on mailing prior to the 24th; receiving them before 2010 is still an esteemable goal.  Nope, I’m not going to fret; I’m just going to let it be.

Besides, for my family, this Christmas season has already been more poignant than others.  It’s the first without my mom who passed away in January (RIP), and the last family Christmas for my SIL for some time, who travels off to a new job across the world in the coming summer. I can’t stress about the little things when nostalgia is overflowing our stockings and the need to make fun memories for everyone ranks high on all our wish lists. 

No, I’m letting it all be. I know that memories of  my mom will come whether beckoned or not,  and that I just have to ride the wave when certain ones threaten to tear me open. I also know that memories for the future are inescapabably made, whether they’ll be fond ones or not. And I’m sure there will be some tears of joy and of sorrow, just as I’m certain there will be enough raucous laughter to haunt the halls when all the holiday merriment has ended. 

“Let it be” is my mantra now. I’ve done all that I could to make this a special Christmas for my family and friends. Now I’m going to focus on the love I have for each and every one of them. After all, when we get right down to it, the holiday season for all faiths and walks of life centers around Love. Not cookies, not presents or glossy cards. Just love, in all its glorious facets.

So may your holidays be filled with love and laughter, health and happiness. Merry Christmas all and Happy Holidays!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Tracy on December 23, 2009 at 2:16 am

    Ok this has nothing to do with Christmas but the snow on your site is too cool =)

    And is anybody ready for Christmas? Is it really on Friday? Looking forward to finally opening the presents 😉

    Enjoy your Christmas, it is really a season to reflect on the past, present and future AND it is best enjoyed with the little people.

    Reply

  2. Posted by yangmommy on December 23, 2009 at 12:49 pm

    One thing I didn’t mention was that here in the States, Christmas is over by the 26th. But growing up w/ European parents, we celebrated Christmas all week, as was tradition for my folks. Much more fun that way!

    Little people make such a difference at the holidays, don’t they? Bonus–they allow us old folks to be kids again too 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

