Dear Mall Kiosk Workers…

Dear Mall Kiosk Workers,

This is not meant as a complaint letter. No, it’s more of a plea for understanding; for compassion, upon us mom mall shoppers, esp with tots in tow, and  more so that it is the holiday season.

Now, I know your job is not the most stellar of occupations. I understand that you need to get people to come over to your kiosk and hopefully, buy your product. As someone who has worked in marketing for over 15 years, I really do “get” what you have to do.

But PLEASE, don’t ask me “a quick question” when you see me trying to wrangle my tot away from the up escalator. Or see me pushing the stroller that’s piled high with teetering bags and a crying babe. Or notice that I’m trying my best not to notice you because I’ve already scouted out your wares several yards ahead and I’m doing my best to create a route of “friendly avoidance” but you’re obviously not taking my hint.

And for goodness sake (more so your sake than mine, actually), DO NOT EVER, EVER step in front of me and said tot /stroller /armload of bags and ask me your “quick question.” DO NOT BLOCK my exit route from your stall. If I wanted your products in the first place, I’d make a beeline towards you (that does not include when chasing tots who have run to your stuffed animal display).

Thank you for your understanding.

Yang Mommy

PS I also know the days I look harried because I tend to wear a cute hat, so DO NOT say in a loud voice (to be heard over the cacophony of the mall music), “Ma’m, how do you style your hair?” DUH–if I had the time to style it do you really think I’d have slapped on this hat?!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Tracy on December 18, 2009 at 1:59 am

    LMAO =)

    Maybe it is time to start shopping online 😉

    Honestly I can totally understand, I just avoid all those kiosk workers by looking the other way and not hearing what they say or a simple “no thanks”. Thankfully the department store fragrance/makeup section tends to ignore me when they see the small one gumming away on her carrier.

    Hope you got all your X-Mas shopping done =)

    Reply

  2. Posted by yangmommy on December 18, 2009 at 1:41 pm

    Don’t get me going on the Femmes du Fragrance! Actually, I’ve noticed now that I have a tot in tow, they tend to leave me be whereas when I’m out enjoying some “me time” I tend to get swathed in perfume. Wouldn’t be so bad if it didn’t irritate my eyes 😉

    As for finishing the shopping, well, there’s a reason why there is no Countdown to Christmas Wk 3–I’ve been too busy!! But I think it’s time to take your advice to heart and do some shopping online now and then.

    Season’s Greetings!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

