Save a Little Money

YIN:

Even though we’re a two income family, like lots of others right now we’re living on a strict budget. But even before the ecomony went south, I was always a bit of a cheapskate. And proud of it : ) 98% of the time I don’t purchase anything that’s not on sale. I use coupons whenever I can. And I love to get tips on how others save. So here are some of my tips on how parents can save a little money.

Kid’s eat free: I never understood the greatness of this tip until I had a child. If you’re looking to go out for a break or a treat, only go to places that let your little one pick something off the kid’s menu for free when you purchase something. You can Google ‘kids eat free’ or if you have an iPhone you can get an app for that. Or ask your other mom friends for suggestions. Just be sure to read all the rules and regulations.

Coupons: Did you know Target (one of my favorite stores) allows you to use one of their store coupons along with a manufacturer’s coupon? What a deal! People have told me they don’t clip coupons because it takes too much time. But it doesn’t take that much time and is well worth it. If you’re not in the mood to clip your own coupons you could always purchase some on eBay (really).

Clothes: Children’s clothes are expensive. Expensive! It seems like such a waste but I like my daughter to look cute. What’s a cheapskate to do? Go to Goodwill! Find one that is close to a well-to-do area because of course they’ll drop their kids’ clothes off and rich people will purchase high end things. At my Goodwill infant clothes are $1.19 each. I’ve found a mini University of Florida cheerleader outfit (that retails for about $60), clothes with the tags still on them, and a pink Laura Ashley step stool I got for $7. Also try consignment shops or trade clothes with your friends who have children in a similar age range. My daughter even has worn boy’s clothes if I find them at the right price.

Buy inexpensive, not cheap: There is a big difference between buying something that is inexpensive and something that is cheap. I’ve learned the hard way that cheap things don’t last and you end up spending extra money to replace it. I don’t shop for myself a lot (because I don’t like to go to the mall) but when I do, a lot of times I’ll head to stores like Ann Taylor or Banana Republic and go straight to the sales racks. There are times I’ll find things I wasn’t looking for but I can’t leave behind. An example is a pair of khakis that fit perfectly I got at Banana Republic for $4.99. Of course I don’t find those kind of crazy deals all the time but when I do I don’t let it go. The trick is to shop off season. Guestimate your child’s size for next year and grab that swimsuit in October or that sweater in April.

Do you have any great tips on how you save money for your family? Pass them on – I’d love to hear about them!

P.S. You’ve probably noticed that Yang Mommy didn’t post on this subject. She loves to save too but to post a little more often we’re going to periodically post on our own. Don’t worry – we’ll still be posting together on a pretty regular basis!

Leave a Reply

