Can a Stay-at-Home-Mom Really Play Hooky?

I’m playing hooky today.  Sorta. 

Today’s one of the days my tot and I go to “gym class,” AKA “R-U-N like mad and kick balls around!!”  Usually I’m gun-ho about going as I too get to run–I mean, chase–around the gym.  It’s good exercise, if not a little frustrating when your tot is the one who insists on doing things “her way.”  Anyway, I do get to hang out with some neat people for an hour that are over the age of 2.  Not all bad, considering.

 Alas, playing hooky isn’t what it used to be, as in the days when I’d call in “sick” to work or skip a class at college.  Back then, I would have had the whole day to myself, to take a long and lengthy bubble bath while reading the morning paper, then sit immersed in some horrible guck on TV while chomping on chips and wearing my comfy robe all day.  Bliss, especially considering the work world I exited a few years ago.

But as a SAHM and writer, the traditional concept of playing hooky is well…just a concept now.  Because I’m still at home, which is my place of work.  I’m just choosing not to write today, but then again, here I am blogging!  And if I’m at home, there’s always something around the house I can be doing, such as painting that master bath, laundry, cleaning–you get the gist.  Not exactly the mental/physical break that playing hooky used to promise.

But I’m not giving up on it!  Instead, to honor the truant in my who once was, I hereby vow not to do any chores today and to indulge in some sophomoric television whilst the tot naps.  Otherwise, I will exchange my PJs for sweat pants and a t-shirt and play on the floor with my girl all morning, indulging my inner child.

Hrmm…not so bad, come to think of it!  And it won’t count as an absence or spent vacation day, either ;>

4 responses to this post.

  1. So true! My older sister who has three kids used to warn me that “Motherhood is so daily!” She was right! We don’t get sick days or vacation days, and if we do escape for an hour or two to navigate Costco by ourselves, we have to fight off feelings of guilt. I am so thankful that I have a great hubby to parent our children with me. I love reminding him that “It’s not babysitting if you are parenting your own children!”

    Reply

    • Posted by yangmommy on October 21, 2010 at 5:14 pm

      I feel guilty too, those chances I get to go by myself to the store, like Costco (or better yet, the entire mall!) But I end up looking at all the tots and wondering what my own is doing! So before I feel too bad, I shake it off and enjoy myself :>

      Thanks for dropping by!

      Reply

  2. I love this! I “played hooky” myself yesterday. When my two year old napped, I did too! I had posts to write, things to edit, a dishwasher to empty and a washer full of clothes to dry. I napped instead. It.was.awesome.

    Reply

  3. Totally considering this for tomorrow – we may just stay in our pjs and let the Aikido class and playdate slide…maybe even have a family nap!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

